1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

92 CTD - pro/con

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2003, 05:56 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
92 CTD - pro/con

Just came across a 92 CTD for sale that piqued my interest. I have a 96 so I haven't been perusing the 1st Gen forum for tidbits on these trucks, so please excuse my ignorance.<br><br>What are the strengths and weaknesses of the 92 CTD? What are the common items to look for that could cause headaches down the road? Is there anything specific to consider as a deal killer if the seller doesn't know or won't tell?<br><br>I have an 82 D350 SRW so the body/frame/interior is a known quantity to me, its just the VE-equipped injection I have no experience with. Is there a KDP type of issue with these earlier trucks?<br><br>Also, what kind of mileage is expected out of these? I know it depends on rear axle and how close the foot stays to the floor but a ballpark for an unmodified truck?<br><br>Thanks for any info. Just thinking this might be a good deal.
Old 04-16-2003, 09:26 AM

Re:92 CTD - pro/con

mileage is probably atleast 18-25 mpg and as far as the kdp...not sure if this a problem but mine is tabbed just for safety sake and peace of mind<br><br><br>things to look out for...electrical wiring...paint fading...and whether or not its a getrag 5spd or an auto
Old 04-16-2003, 09:58 AM