12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

Few things (I'm a noob)

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2007, 02:02 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Few things (I'm a noob)

I don't know much about diesels, but now I own one so I had better figure some things out... And I hope I'm not pulling the typical retarded noob first post here.

It's a 'maybe' bone stock 94, auto tranny and 4wd. I say 'maybe' because I bought it off a lot and haven't found the PO. But, obviously nothing performance wise has been done to it...

Anyways. There was a service bulletin (or something like that) for the KDP. What are the chances that it actually has been done? Is it common practice to mark anything external if it has been done? A sticker? If there's no way to tell, I'll deal with it on a weekend sometime... I hate working on my DD.

Also, it tends to surge occasionally at certain speeds. Seems to be somewhere around third gear. It's worse when towing. Even my unloaded equipment deck (1600lbs) causes it to be quite obvious. And it really didn't like when I had a truck on the deck. From what I've read this would be a faulty TPS? And they're built to be entirely non user servicable?

And is there an explaination of the trannies shifting tendencies anywhere? It feels very strange, like it won't lock the TQ until OD. Or something... It feels sluggish until it pulls into 4th and then it'll really haul. Which actually leads me to ask if having the OD on affects how it shifts in 1-3? Perhaps the strange feel to it is again related to the TPS?

Oh yeah, guess my coolant temp sender has piled up too. I think I'll deal with it and get some real gauges at some point here.

And I'm thinking about doing the governor mod and getting a fuel plate perhaps. Otherwise I'll leave it alone.

Thoughts, comments?
Old 07-07-2007, 06:47 AM
JKM