Towing and Hauling / RV Discuss towing and hauling here. Share your tips and tricks. RV and camping discussion welcome.

In bed tank 12v shut-off valve

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2008, 07:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
In bed tank 12v shut-off valve

I put in a Murphy SV-12 electric shutoff valve between my "in bed" fuel tank and my factory tank the other day. It is a normally closed valve, I wired it into my Painless fuse box so it opens when the ignition is on, I also threw a toggle switch in there. It wont stop the fuel flow tho. A couple questions I have......... can you mount these valves with the magnet down??? The place I bought the valve says I have to run this valve with a relay???? He says it will burn it out the way I have it wired. Im no wiring expert but that sounds crazy to me, I have read the instructions and looked on the net and cant find anything that says that. All I have is 12v running to it.

I cant imagine that the 1 pound of hydrostatic pressure would be enough to not let the valve close.

I have doubled checked the wiring and flow indicator on the valve, it all checks out and I can here the valve actuate when I throw the toggle switch.

Any input would be greatly appreciated, thanks
Old 11-05-2008, 08:45 PM

Received 36 Likes on 32 Posts
Fuel S/O vlvs are mostly motor driven for reliability and no amount of pressure will force it open, not solenoid driven. Solenoid types are for fast actuation usually to close off the supply in a hurry until the motor s/o vlv can close then power is removed from the solenoid. If you power the vlv all the time the truck is powered then it will burn out the solenoid. The only reason I can see for using a relay would be if the solenoid draws a fair amount of amps, and it might. As for mounting upside down should it leak internally then fuel would run down into the power end of the vlv (not good) instead of out the weep hole that most are designed with.
Old 11-05-2008, 09:14 PM