Towing and Hauling / RV Discuss towing and hauling here. Share your tips and tricks. RV and camping discussion welcome.

New '17 3500 SRW fifth wheel hitch options...San Diego

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2017, 03:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New '17 3500 SRW fifth wheel hitch options...San Diego

Hi All,

I've been reading this forum for information on fifth wheel hitches. Hope I'm not beating a dead horse on this. I'm actually new to fifth wheels. Been pulling bumper pulls my whole life but recently stepped up and got a '17 3500 Aisin SRW Megacab 6'4" box(without fifth wheel prep package). I'm going to be pulling a 29' fifth wheel with a reported hitch weight of 1325lbs.

I was wondering what hitches others are happy with. I will be pulling probably 75% of the time so very concerned with strength and longevity. I have read about the BW Companion, which is considered a "single point attachment". is a single point attachment not a strong or reliable as a rail style?...or the Pulrite Superglide? I like the idea of once the hitch is out, the ball can be removed for full bed use, however, I am also fine with rails if that will lead to more strength and reliably.
Any advice or thoughts would be appreciated. Also, does anyone recommend a place in the San Diego area that would do a good install of the hitch?

Thank you,
Old 11-07-2017, 06:38 PM

Received 36 Likes on 32 Posts