Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

Steam Injection.....?

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2004, 12:41 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Steam Injection.....?

OK, here's the deal...

My brother and I were sitting down at some drag races in San Antonio a few weekends back. He's new to turbos, and doesn't know much about diesels. Since our shop was a vendor/sponsor for the event, we had alot of turbos on hand and we were helping people understand how they work, and what could be done with them. He asked me a question, and we talked about what we thought it would do...we'll get to that in a second...

Since I'm also new to diesels...I might be asking something that has already been done, or just plain won't work.

I understand the water injection, I understand the propane injection, and I understand nitrous oxide injection...and I don't plan on using any of them because I'm a broke whiteboy and my '92 CTD is my daily driver and I don't feel like replacing/rebuilding a motor.

Here's the skinny...

Steam Injection... A water reservoir, inline pump, copper tubing wrapped around the outlet neck of the turbine housing/downpipe, with a nozzle directed into the inlet side of the turbine housing.

This nozzle injects steam into the exhaust gases entering the turbine wheel/housing. This should INCREASE exhaust pressure, throughout the RPM band. Basically making more exhaust pressure at any RPM than the motor would without it. This would result in quicker turbine spool up, and less engine RPM's to make that turbine spin.

This SHOULD also lower EGT's when used, since it's not taking as much power from the engine, ie, power=heat. It should also lower the temps in the turbine housing.

We're thinking there shouldn't be any negatives to this theory, since nothing is directly injected INTO the intake, compressor, or engine itself.