Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

Electrical consumption question.

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2016, 09:39 AM
It's my pot and I'll stir it if I want to. If you're not careful, I'll stir your's as well!

Received 152 Likes on 118 Posts
Electrical consumption question.

I am NOT an expert in this subject so need a bit of help. Actually, need LOTS of help and guidance.

The orphanage that I volunteer at is presently paying over US$1,100 a month in electrical bills. They are now looking at reducing that monthly cost with solar panels. My question for the more knowledgeable folks here is this;
It has been calculated that 128 solar panels are required to cover the energy usage there, but the initial cost is high. Yes, once they are installed, the monthly cost is dramatically reduced, but which is better, to just throw solar panels at the problem, or first take whatever steps can be done to reduce the consumption,such as LED lights, energy star appliances etc. After that, then recalculate how many panels will be required as the consumption will be reduced.
Is just adding more solar panels instead of reducing consumption putting the cart before the horse?
Old 02-21-2016, 09:59 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I would take the second approach in reducing the power consumption with more efficient equipment and other devices. Find out what the heavy power usage items are and start from there looking at more efficient means. For example is everything all electric? Like cooking appliances and water heaters? If so look to see if propane fuel is cheaper to consume for those items. More efficient AC/heater systems, replace incandescent lights with LED's, etc.
Old 02-21-2016, 10:00 AM
Administrator

Received 40 Likes on 34 Posts