Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

Any Visual C# programmers here?

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2005, 04:41 PM

Received 1,038 Likes on 763 Posts
Any Visual C# programmers here?

Hi all:

I have been studying Visual C# and I was wondering if anyone else was into it.

I have done Basic stuff in the past and quite a bit of Assembly programming. I also do Microcontrollers like 8051 and FPGA's.

Edwin
Old 07-25-2005, 05:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Visual C++/C/MFC/Java but no C#
Old 07-25-2005, 06:11 PM

Originally posted by rbuchana
Visual C++/C/MFC/Java but no C#
I have Visual Studio 6 and I started with the Visual Basic stuff but then I lucked onto a nice book that included the compiler and IDE so I'm studying it now. I'm trying to get used to the idea of objects and classes.

Machine language is so much easier to understand.

Edwin
Old 07-25-2005, 06:25 PM

Easier, but not nearly as POWERFUL.

What do you do??
Old 07-25-2005, 06:50 PM

Originally posted by rbuchana
Easier, but not nearly as POWERFUL.

What do you do??
Well, I started out as a Electronics tech then I got into computers and I started designing hardware. Had to learn programming to do microcontrollers & also did some Z-80 stuff. Now I'm a freelance consultant and I need to learn programming cause I'm missing out on to much work.

Hopefully Java will be easier to learn once I get a handle on this OOP stuff.

As for machine code being less powerful, I have to disagree. I can program anything in machine language it just takes longer cause you have to account for every bit. HLL's are great for doing the MACRO stuff cause they have a rich set of libraries pre-built. In machine code you either write your own library routines or hope you can find some. But then you knew that already.