HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

Wastegate seized?

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2006, 05:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wastegate seized?

Hello to all, I am a newbie here with a newly purchased '02 2500 Ram CTD with 108,000 miles. As far as I know, there are no mods other than a new 4" exhaust with glasspak muffler. The truck runs great but I noticed a problem. I have a scanpro onboard OBD II scanner that says the truck has 29 lbs of boost at idle, and goes up to 36 at 2,000 RPM. I believe the wastegate is stuck in a closed position, and when I tried to move the wastgate rod it seems to be frozen. Is this the reason for the high psi? What is the manifold pressure supposed to be normally? What can I do to free the wastegate? Or do I need to replace the turbo? Thanks to you all.
Old 04-19-2006, 06:02 PM
Administrator

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
At idle you should have 0psi of boost, even flooring it in neutral or park, you won't see hardly any boost.

You have a bad MAP sensor, not a stuck wastegate.

phox
Old 04-20-2006, 03:43 PM

if you cant move the wastegate rod then it is frozen and is a common issue, even with that stuck shut you should not have more than about 5-10 psi and wot during no load rev. i would change the map sensor we went through this with a buddy of mine on his 01. however the map sensor reads 14.7 at idle or with engine off that is normal it will always read at one atmosphere hints the name (manifold absolute pressure)
Old 04-20-2006, 07:58 PM

Thanks
I will try changing the MAP sensor first. How do I remedy the seized wastegate?
Old 04-20-2006, 08:15 PM

I doubt the wastegate is siezed, you usually can't move it by hand. You need to apply a little air pressure to the actuator, 25-30 psi should be enough. Use a valve so you can control it.
Old 04-23-2006, 07:36 PM