HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

Accelerator Pedal Position Sensor (APPS)

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2003, 10:28 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Accelerator Pedal Position Sensor (APPS)

Hey guys, I bought my first DC last year, so I'm still kind of new to them and I need some help.<br><br>I have been having a lot of trouble with the APPS on my truck. While driving, the truck goes to idle. If I pump the accelerator a few times, it will work again. I checked the plug on the APPS and it seems to be fine. I have a service manual which says the voltage at the plug with the ignition switch on should be about 5, but I'm only getting about 4 when I check it. A new APPS at the dealer here is $440.<br><br>So, my question is have many of you guys had trouble with the APPS? If so, do you know of a dealer that has better prices? Is there a salvage yard anywhere that would have this part, or should I stay away from salvage yards for this type of part.<br><br>Thanks in advance.<br>Terry
Old 03-05-2003, 08:27 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Re:Accelerator Pedal Position Sensor (APPS)

i had the same problem on my 98. I took it off and cleaned the plug and it seems to be fine now. i priced one here a while back and it was less then 200 for mine i believe you might want to double check. is it not covered under the 100k warranty?
Old 03-06-2003, 06:36 AM