HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

99 cummins wont start

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2007, 10:40 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
99 cummins wont start

I am kinda new to diesels and very new to DTR. I have a 1999 dodge 3500 w the cummins motor. It has 168000 miles and I have driven it about 17000 of those. I bought a haynes manual and have checked the grid heaters and they seem to be working fine according to the manual. If I keep trying I can eventually get it started and it runs great and it will start right back up after shutdown but once it sits for a while it wont start back. Sometimes I can mash the accelerator about half way while turning it over and that seems to help but not everytime. Someboby HELP me!
Old 03-02-2007, 03:53 PM

Well I read through some the older threads learned a few things.( I hope) I loosened fuel line at # 1 and cranked it over and got some air then fuel and then it started right up, ran rough till I tightened it up and then ran smooth. I waited about an hour or so and same thing again, didn't want to start. Somebody please help. John
Old 03-02-2007, 04:00 PM

Could be your check valve on pump. If you do a search you may find other's with this problem.
Old 03-02-2007, 04:01 PM
Chapter President

Welcome to DTR, I know you will find a WEALTH of info here, and a lot of friendly advice / assistance -

First thing: Fill out your signature (User CP) so we know what vehicle / mod's we are dealing with, that will make it a LOT easier to diagnose.

No gauges?

Diesels need only fuel and air to run, so tracing both is the first step - check your air filter to see if it is totally plugged and not allowing air thru...

Now...do you have fuel (at least 1/2 a tank)? Do you use any additives (Powerservice, Stanadyne, etc.)? Are the batteries strong? Low voltage / sluggish turn-over can prevent starting....