HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

'04 Out of FUEL Cannot Restart HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2006, 11:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation '04 Out of FUEL Cannot Restart HELP!

Hey all,

I've got a 2004 Cummins 5.9L with over 70K on her. She has been driving perfectly fine with no problems, all highway miles...

Tonight, as I have been pushing my luck lately, I ran out of diesel and the truck died.

I called a friend and we threw in 5 gallons of Mobil Diesel, she turned over twice but shut off right away each time and hasn't turned over since.

I am no diesel mechanic but know my way around gas cars just fine. that being said, it's after midnight here in CT and I am looking for anyone who can guide me as to how the heck to restart this thing...there is a filter with a yellow "switch" underneath it in the engine compartment.

I read on a few websites that the 04 Cummins motors have some sort of "self-priming fuel pump" that is supposed to be trouble free even if the truck runs out of fuel....

HELP ME PLEASE AND THANK YOU ALL!
Old 01-10-2006, 11:50 PM

Sorry to hear about your plight. I don't have a third gen but I'm somewhat sure that it's a matter of purging the air.

I know that on the 2nd gens you may have to crack a few injectors to bleed it.
Old 01-10-2006, 11:58 PM

Dude, That sucks. I don't have a 3rd gen, only a 1st. I done that once & it was a ***** to get it to fire up again. Yep, I had to crack some injector lines open, to push the air out. But when that didn't work, I disconnected my intake heater & sprayed ether in her. I know it say on the engine to not use starter fluids, but I if you disconnect the intake heater, you can try this.

Otherwise keep cranking on it, it will eventually purge the air out. Hope your batteries are hot.
Old 01-11-2006, 12:37 AM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts