General Diesel Discussion Talk about general diesel engines (theory, etc.) If it's about diesel, and it doesn't fit anywhere else, then put it right in here.

Had a wreck, now want to buy some parts back off my truck...how best to do it?

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2005, 08:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Had a wreck, now want to buy some parts back off my truck...how best to do it?

Wrecked a truck a few weeks ago and my insurance company decided to total it. So they had some salvage yard move it from the original towing company to the new salvage yard. Assuming that I'm able to track down the name of the place that now has my truck, what's the best way to go about obtaining some parts off my old truck? Should I or shouldn't I tell them that it was my truck (thinking that might affect the price?)? I have no experience with this process, so I really appreciate any and all help. Thanks so much.
Old 12-25-2005, 08:36 PM

I assume you don't want to buy the whole thing back. But if the insurance company hasn't paid you yet, you still own it and should be able negotiate with them to remove anything you'd like. For instance, if you spent some $$ on an after market stereo (and it looks like you did) and wanted it back (and I'll bet you do), you should be able to get it. It is not likely that your stereo means diddly to the insurance company but the salvage guy will make money off it if you dont take it. Same goes for other parts.

Good luck man and sorry to hear about your rig.
Old 12-25-2005, 09:16 PM

I am sorry to hear of the wreck. But I have to ask if you would be able to snag the drivers side front door for me if you are able to strip some parts ... (This is the quad cab in your sig?)
Old 12-25-2005, 09:28 PM

Originally Posted by xp8103