General Diesel Discussion Talk about general diesel engines (theory, etc.) If it's about diesel, and it doesn't fit anywhere else, then put it right in here.

diesel engine operation questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2004, 11:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
diesel engine operation questions

I am brand new to diesels. had no idea how they work, so i went to howstuffworks.com and got a general idea of diesel operation. But i still have a ton of questions.

1. The lift pump supplies fuel to the injectors?Why not use a cheaper electric fuel pump, in-tank?

2. I assume a cam operates the valves, seems as noone does cam upgrades. BAsically i need more info on the valvetrain operation.

3.Ok on the intake side it takes in air, compresses it, then fuel is injected (on the website it also shows compressed air being injected with the fuel, i guess this is my question) and then exhaust stroke.

4. How is timing set/adjusted/measured.

5. Glow plugs, i understand they help aid in heating to ease startup, but where are they located, is all they do is heat.

6. what turbo do i have, and operation of the entire turbo system, wastegate etc.

7. i know my engine does not use a fuel plate, but i would like to understand them, and understand the difference between what i have and a fuel plate

8. why do you guys call mods bombs

9. why does more power seem to equal more smoke

10. where can i find diagrams/pictures etc. on engine component operation. meaning heads, bore placement, crank rods pistons and specs on all of them

11. the engine is so loud as is, how do i know if something is not operating correctly.

Thanks guys, I have more but will get the basics covered first.
Old 02-17-2004, 11:39 AM

I'll take a stab at a few of the questions, but I'm limited in my diesel knowledge.

1. The lift pump supplies fuel to the injector pump. (vp-44)

4. I don't believe that we can manually adjust timing on the 24 valve, I believe that it's all electronic.