General Diesel Discussion Talk about general diesel engines (theory, etc.) If it's about diesel, and it doesn't fit anywhere else, then put it right in here.

Buying; Lesson Learned, GET IT IN WRITING!

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2010, 05:00 PM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Buying; Lesson Learned, GET IT IN WRITING!

This is not meant to bash a specific dealer. Just a reminder to GET IT IN WRITING!

I have been working with (a well known DTR dealer) to buy a new 2011 truck. I've been working with a salesman there for more than 2 months. He told me I could get $4,000 worth of incentives from Dodge on a 2011. I almost gave them a deposit to order the truck, but the local dealer (Woodhouse, Blair, NE) said no way, and I should get it in writing. So when I called back and asked for it in writing he started to quote a 2010! I reminded him that I needed to order a truck and that the 2011 incentives would be different and he said no they would be the same! I told him to double check right now. He did and the incentives are only $1,500.

Get it in writing!

Another tip is do not worry about monthly payments, worry about bottom line price of the truck, then figure payments! Learn how to use a payment calculator and figure out what the payments are going to be ahead of time!

The deal I can get locally is invoice minus $1,500 Dodge incentives, and $1,200 dealer incentives.

I hate being scammed!
Old 08-19-2010, 05:09 PM
Administrator/Jarhead

Received 19 Likes on 19 Posts
Yep! I got shafted on 2k on my truck when I did not get it in writing...
Old 08-19-2010, 05:20 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
When I bought mine 20 months agoe (used) the dealership tried to slip a fast one by us. But, I made them wait while I read every line of the contract. Then they had to change things to make me happy.

You're right about cost vs. payments. Get to the bottom line, and then ask about payments. Make sure the numbers match.