Fuels / BioDiesel / Diesel Prices Use this forum to discuss your biodiesel information, and to find the best price on fuel.

Can you run straight (filtered) WMO?

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2009, 07:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
i run my wmo thru a 5 micron filter then a 1 micron filter. if any thing gets past that it will go thru my fuel system anyway fuel filters are usally 10 micron so it would pass the filter. the refinaries probably dont filter down to 1 micron so i would bet there is still junk in #2.
Old 02-25-2009, 06:57 PM

Im digging up a thread because, being a diesel newbie, i KNEW about Bio-Diesel... But didnt know ANYthing about WMO! I knew you could burn it in heaters but in a diesel engine!?
So here come the newbie questions. Feel free to smack me!

*I see allot of 12v talk... Can i run it in a 99 24V 5.9 CTD?

*Do you need ANY mods to run it or can you just dump it in the tank?

*Is it better to pre mix it with diesel fuel even if its a low ratio diesel to WMO?

*I do plan on filetering the CRAP out of it! Any suggestion on pump type? I was thinking of filtering with those Pure Power reusable stainless filters. Or is there a specific brand/type suggested?

*As far as mixing GAS with the oil to thin it out... This is Gas as in Gasoline? What octane rating or does it matter?

*Is there any performance loss by running WMO? Does MPG suffer compaired to 100% diesel?

*I assume that in some part WMO helps lengthen engine life by lubricating the engine more.. is this true?

*What kind of issues can WMO cause through exhaust? Nasty sludge on turbine? Oil drippies from exhaust?

Thanks ahead for all the info... Even though the price of diesel is down it still would be nice to save money!
Old 02-25-2009, 07:21 PM
Chapter President

I filter mine through a polyester bag (sock type filter hung over a bucket, its a 5 to 1 micron, (meaning a 5 micron inner bag and a 1 micron finnish bag all in one)

:LINK:

http://www.mcmaster.com/#5726k11/=rg9wx