4th Gen High Performance and Accessories 2010 and Up Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for fourth generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

Newbie - Looking for Some Guidance...

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2015, 08:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Newbie - Looking for Some Guidance...

Hello All, this is my first post. I am in the North Florida area and I just recently bought a 2012 Ram 2500 Outdoorsman with the 6.7 Cummins. It has about 128,000 miles on it and has had some deletes done, etc. My issue is that I have no experience with Ram Diesels and do not have baseline to measure the truck against so I can't tell if its running right. It's my first diesel truck but I have a lot of experience with gas motors and a little experience with marine diesels.

The truck I bought has a factory exhaust brake but I can't tell its doing anything when on. I am also throwing various codes (mostly egr stuff) and getting an EVIC message that the exhaust needs servicing immediately.

I have done quite a bit of research and spent some time going over, under and around the truck and I figured out it has the following:

• 5 inch straight pipe from the tail to the turbo. Doesn't appear to have any muffler (and yet it's not that loud?) and the NOx, DPF, and Cat are definitely missing. Under the truck I've found the connectors for the exhaust sensors and they are just hanging, not taped or otherwise sealed. There are 5 of them I think plus the two pressure tubes near the trans which are open to the atmosphere.
  • There is a red puck in the engine bay and a rotary switch under the steering wheel. I am 99% sure this is a Power Puck from Diablo. Its plugged in to the MAP Sensor at the back of the engine I think. I can't tell that it does anything when turning the rotary dial.