4th Gen High Performance and Accessories 2010 and Up Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for fourth generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

Delete progress

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2011, 12:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Delete progress

Morning DTR,

Operation Blacktek went this weekend. Did the Sinister EGR and Cooler delete now waiting on the UPS man to deliver my 5 in TBE.

Review of the kit.

Pro:
Coolant remains circulated, not blocked.
Back plate is pre-tapped for EGT gauge.
Block off plates are thick!
No special tools required except a 15mm crows foot for 1 bolt.

Cons:
I'm a novice when it comes to most mechanical things and the directions sucked. My IPad came into good use with both H&S and GDP directions online.

The bracket to hold the coolant lines, etc didn't line up quite right.

Lessons learned: If/When I have to re-do this and to anyone else on the 2010's you do not have to pull the back two coolant lines to get the cooler out..

Now off to run the gauges and take off the stock exhaust. For the deleted experts, did anyone get a coolant flush after deletes? Or just burp the system and add the needed coolant? I think I lost about a 1/2 gallon.
Old 08-29-2011, 12:24 PM
Chapter President

Location: misplaced Idahoan stuck in Albuquerque, Roughneckin on RIG 270
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
just make sure you burp the system VERY WELL. don't romp on the truck until you know 100% for sure you have all the air out of the system. trapped air creates steam pockets, steam pockets create stupid amounts of pressure and not good on the HG.
Old 08-29-2011, 12:29 PM

Thanks CBrah's. I was hoping you would see this. I was half tempted to pm you and drive down to NM to "enlist" your help, haha. I have your reply on how to burp the system stickier in my computer. When funds allow a drive to NM with a GDP waste gate and ARPs is in the future..
Old 08-29-2011, 12:40 PM
Chapter President