4th Gen Engine and Drivetrain-2010 and Up 6.7 liter Engine and Drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Filled up with gas

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2010, 04:40 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Filled up with gas

2010 41 passenger coach bus w/ 6.7 cummins. Driver filled up with gasoline then hit the road. Was told 30 miles down the road it died, towed to nearest cummins shop to get gas removed. The bus made it back ~500 miles.

I have will have a look at the repair bill tomorrow. What should be checked out when this happens?
Old 08-22-2010, 04:51 PM
Administrator / Severe Concussion Aficionado

Received 15 Likes on 10 Posts
The drivers head after you smack him/her really hard....

Typical monitoring if they get it running. Most important, the lift pump. If it doesnt fail you should be ok.

Ive been driving since 1996, started out in my '90 when it was Dads. To this day I have never put gas in any diesel truck by mistake. How does one accomplish that???
Old 08-22-2010, 06:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I've actually done this before. I added about 10 gal of gas to my 96, the gas handle was green just like diesel.... I realized it because i was watching the price, it was'nt going up very fast!! A little more than 50/50 deisel to gas.... Drove it home about another 100 miles and had no probs even years after that. I was told by an experienced diesel mech that mixing a little gas to the diesel used to be done to clean out the enginge back in the day... But, with motors today, not so sure!
Old 08-22-2010, 06:41 PM

When I was a mechanic at the Green Shingle truck stop on I-90 Erie PA, we had a fuel delivery of diesel accidently put into the gasoline tanks. Boy, our gasoline powered service trucks ran like crap after we filled them up with that diesel gasoline mix.
Old 08-22-2010, 07:21 PM

Originally Posted by JTCHess