3rd Generation Ram - Non Drivetrain - All Years Talk about the 2003 and up Dodge Ram here. PLEASE, NO ENGINE OR DRIVETRAIN DISCUSSION!.

Collision specalist!

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2009, 05:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Collision specalist! cab replacement

Hey Guys i have a quick question for any of you who may know here. i have a 2004 quad cab ram. Had a tree fall on it out on a lake, Insurance isnt covering it since it was "off road", So long story short. I was going to do a cab swap. Im not new to swapping cabs as I am a class 8 diesel mechanic, Weve done plenty of them in the shop, sleeper replacements, so on. Weve also done a our own shop truck when it was t boned, that was a straight swap. I found a cab today, same color no damage i thought I was in heaven.

So When they ask me how i want it packaged i told them a pallet would be fine. Then they tell me its just a "clip" I asked him what he meant, I guess dodge maked the cab and front end one piece, like a uni body design? So they cut the cab off of the fire wall. So what I would be getting is the windshield frame, roof, rear wall and floor. To me this doesnt sound normal, how about anyone else?
Old 03-17-2009, 07:56 PM

Originally Posted by kingofdodge7131
So When they ask me how i want it packaged i told them a pallet would be fine. Then they tell me its just a "clip" I asked him what he meant, I guess dodge maked the cab and front end one piece, like a uni body design? So they cut the cab off of the fire wall.
I'd guess the boneyard made it simple and torch cut the frame at the firewall. Sell the motor to the highest bidder and let him unbolt the rest. Sell the cab to the highest bidder and...well you get it. They don't sell new frames at the boneyard, just parts.
Old 03-17-2009, 08:33 PM

I dont need a frame, the frame is fine, just smashed the cab in. My main question is, isnt the fire wall part of the cab? seems to me it would be big structure to the cab?
Old 03-17-2009, 09:03 PM