3rd Gen High Performance and Accessories (6.7L Only) Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for third generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories. THIS IS FOR THE 6.7L ONLY!

Best programmer for mileage & money???

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2010, 11:06 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Best programmer for mileage & money???

I'm new to the 6.7L. Got mine back end of July 2009. I started traveling more for my job, so I really notice the fuel mileage more. I'm thinking of getting a programmer w/ delete pipe. Which is the best for fuel mileage for the amount of money it cost? I knew alot about the 5.9, but this 6.7 is a different deal. Any comments would be appreciated. I was wondering about the H&S vs. Smarty. And can u just get any brand delete pipe? Do you have to remove the egr and cooler, or can u just unplug? I would like to keep it as simple as possible for now, incase I have to put it back to stock for warranty work or recalls; and I can't afford much for now since I just changed jobs and I'm traveling more. Thanks in advance for any comments and help you can provide.
Old 03-07-2010, 03:42 PM
Administrator / Severe Concussion Aficionado

Received 15 Likes on 10 Posts
Any delete pipe will work.

Im not familiar with the H and S unit, but I have heard good things about them and know H&S has good products. I have there deletes on my truck actually (dpf and engine)

I have had great results with the Smarty. The Black Maxx would have to be one heck of a unit to make me give up my Smarty. MPG is great and the power is awesome.
Old 03-07-2010, 03:52 PM

I appreciate the reply. I have been trying to drive about 63mph in order to get around 17 mpg. Do you have any idea of what I can expect to get if I do get a programmer w/delete pipe?
Old 03-07-2010, 03:53 PM

Last interstate trip I did hand calculated was 19.6. Thats running 75 at about 1900 rpms.
Old 03-07-2010, 03:55 PM