3rd Gen High Performance and Accessories (5.9L Only) Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for third generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories. THIS IS FOR THE 5.9L ONLY!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Just Got a dodge

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2011, 06:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Just Got a dodge

Last week I went down and traded my ford on an 03 dodge with 5.9 with 63k on it. I am new to dodges obvioulsy and just want to know what to watch out for with these trucks. Im not gonna get to crazy with it. I plan on doing a leveling kit with wheel/tires, some flip out tow mirrors, and an exhaust. A buddy also told me instead of going and buying an air intake i should just buy a k&n filter off ebay and cut a hole in my stock airbox for alost the same effect but a quarter of the price. Any commments on what to watch out for on these trucks or any suggested mods/good products for the mods that i want to do would be appreciated. Thanks
Old 06-23-2011, 06:50 PM

Congrats on the Dodge purchase? Is your truck completly stock? You will want to look into front end maintenance, track bar, and wheel bearings.

Do NOT put in an oiled filter, especially K&N. Great filters just not good for diesel injectors if you over oil those filters. Just buy a quality DRY filter and do the Home Depot Mod. Do a search on here for that. Wish I had gone that route instead of my current after market filter. I don't think it is worth the money I spent. How ever it looks cool
Old 06-23-2011, 06:54 PM

Thankyou... Yes my truck is bone stock.... I will have to search the home depot mod thing..... And what isthe benefit of the wheel bearing/ track bar upgrades....?
Old 06-23-2011, 07:19 PM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Urethane bushings in the track bar are nice.