3rd Gen High Performance and Accessories (5.9L Only) Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for third generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories. THIS IS FOR THE 5.9L ONLY!

Hello! Newbie here with a LOT of 3500 Megacab Questions!!

Old 05-06-2006, 08:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hello! Newbie here with a LOT of 3500 Megacab Questions!!

First and foremost, Hello DTR!!!

I just today bought my 3rd Dodge 3500 (a 2006 Laramie Megacab 4x4 6spd fully loaded) and have done so to tow my Lamborghini's to track events, car shows, as well as take my Great Dane (properly named 'Diesel') around. I have always just left my prior trucks (an '02 and an '04) bone stock; however, since I love to modify my cars so much, I see no reason why I should leave my Dodge out of the fun! I also know that when it comes to heavy towing, modifications can be a MONUMENTAL improvement. My questions had to do with the following.

Does anyone have any experience with running the larger semi (22.5") wheels and tires and if so, will I need to do any lifting? (I would like to do the biggest wheel and tire combo WITHOUT lifting)

Is doing something like the Banks "Big Hoss Bundle" the best and easiest way to upgrade my truck?

Will I need a new clutch? (I am towing a 44' Gooseneck that, with cars, will probably weigh in around 16-18K (guessing, haven't had it at the scales yet))

Does Banks sell the best exhaust brake?

Does Transfer Flow sell the best 'in-bed' fuel tank?

What are some other improvements I can make to increase HP and TQ whilst still retaining the everyday drivability as well as the ability to use it in very heavy-duty applications?

Thank you guys so much in advance for any and all help and advice. I hope that as I start to modify, and change parts on my vehicle, I can be as useful a resource as you all will be to me! Sorry for the long first post but I have so much to learn and so little time!!!
Old 05-06-2006, 10:33 PM