3rd Gen High Performance and Accessories (5.9L Only) Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for third generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories. THIS IS FOR THE 5.9L ONLY!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Fluttering Boost Gauge

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2010, 10:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fluttering Boost Gauge

I just installed a set of Autometer Factory Match Gauges and love them with one exception. The boost gauge is fluttering when I get on it hard at about 30 lbs. What causes this? We tried two different ports, one up front and then moved it to the back and still have the fluttering. Bad gauge?

Thanks guys. I'm new to all this.

Greg.
Old 07-22-2010, 11:34 PM

Your waste gate is opening and closing. It's normal.
Old 07-22-2010, 11:53 PM
Ace
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I cured that problem by moving the boost gauge tap from a boost bolt in the manifold to the intake horn. Not sure it that is what you mean by "we tried two different ports..."
Old 07-23-2010, 08:29 AM

Originally Posted by Ace
I cured that problem by moving the boost gauge tap from a boost bolt in the manifold to the intake horn. Not sure it that is what you mean by "we tried two different ports..."
What I was trying to say was we had the boost bolt up front and then relocated to another port back towards the firewall.

I'll try a snubber and see if that works any better.

Greg.
Old 07-23-2010, 09:50 AM

Mine does the same thing when I get on it, it starts at about 15lbs of boost. I'm using the boost bolt in the manifold.

where do you get the snubber? I couldn't find it on Geno's.
Old 07-23-2010, 10:42 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Originally Posted by Ghamilton