3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Hub-centric?

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2004, 08:20 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Hub-centric?

Looking for a little help since I am a newbie. Want to get wheels for my 2004.5 and like to get Eagle Alloys, they have 2 wheels (model 114 and 133) that fit and like good (to me of course). Both are 18 inch, the 114 is 9.5 wide, +22mm offset, 6in backspace: the 133 is 8.5 wide, +20mm offset and 5.475in backspace. But I believe they are not HUB-CENTRIC and are lug-centric. Is there a way to make them hub-centric? Is this really a big issue?. I actually prefer the #133. Would the #114 really be that much better than the #133 with +2mm more offset and .525in more backspace? (stock wheels are +40mm offset with 6in. backspace). Any help or anyone with these wheels would be appreciated.
Old 04-09-2004, 09:46 AM
DTR's 'Wrench thrower...' And he aims for the gusto...

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
I don't get what the problem is. When those eight tapered lug nuts tighten down, the wheel is going to be centered on them, end of story. If the center of the wheel fits tight on the axle and does not center with the lugs there is a problem with the manufacturing, in other words a defect. If the wheel center has clearance around the axle center and the lugs carry it, so what? That seems to be how most aftermarket wheels are made. It's the lugs that carry the load. Am I missing something?
If you get less than about 5 1/2 inch backspacing on a wheel that is more than about 8 1/2 or 9 inches wide you may have problems with rubbing. Depends on how big a tire you plan to run.

Wetspirit
Old 04-09-2004, 02:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts