3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Develops a Bad miss at idle SOMETIMES!

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2007, 01:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Develops a Bad miss at idle SOMETIMES!

Newbie here making my first post. My truck gets a bad miss in it sometimes like when it is at idle. By that I mean that I can drive it up the road and it will run just fine, but when I stop at a stop sign or red light it will start to miss real bad again. Take off and it will smooth out and run fine until the next stop. It puffs a little white smoke when it does this. Giving it throttle at idle only makes it worse. It will not smooth out unless you take off down the road. Just changed the fuel filter that wouldn't really dirty but that didn't help. It will also do after sitting overnight on the cold startup. On the cold startups it kinda reminds me of a big rig when you start them cold how they run real rough and blow white smoke until they get warmed up. Anyone have any ideas what could be causing this problem. This is my first diesel and I don't really have any ideas what it could be. Truck has 57K miles on it. Thanks in advance for anyones help.
Old 11-05-2007, 03:55 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
No expert but I would start by putting in some injector cleaner. A rough idle and bits of the white smoke are great indicators of this. Do you also get same when you first start in the morning? If you don't tow much or run it hard you may be getting those injectors a bit more dirty than you need.
Old 11-05-2007, 05:47 PM