3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

2004 Ram 2500 lift pump problems

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2013, 01:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2004 Ram 2500 lift pump problems

Hi everyone, newbie here, first post!!
2 parts to the question:

I have the 5.9l H.O. Cummins in this puppy, flawless performance until the other day when got some hesitation in accelerating up a hill, choked and coughed a bit, but kept going. I got home and replaced fuel filter and air filter as it was in the red. The engine would not start. After the filter was replaced, the bowl did not fill on its own, should the pump fill the bowl on its own? I eventually poured sone diesel into the bowl and started fine.

truck went along fine until yesterday it started doing the choking and coughing after coming off turbo on the highway, even stalled out on me. Was only 2 kilometers from a dealer so drove it there and they were too busy to look at it. So i key danced the following codes: P0628, P0514, P0483, P0480. Drove it home from the dealer(they were too busy to even tell me what the codes meant) Power washed everywhere and cleared all the dirt and salt from everywhere and the P 480 & 483 cleared all by them selves. The 514 does apply to me as I use the block heater almost daily and I know this one from my Caliber as it had the same non life threatening code for years until I had the memory updated. But the P0628 was still there. I checked wiring for corrossion or shorts and checked voltages at the pump, everything checks out, 1 battery is a bit less powerful than the other, but I can't simulate the speed or RPM's of when it fails. Given this and the first problem does this sound like the fuel pump, any ideas or further ways to test more possibilities would be appreciated.
Cheers
Dave
Old 03-18-2013, 03:26 AM

Welcome to the forum.