2nd Gen. Dodge Ram - No Drivetrain Discussion for all Dodge Rams from 1994 through 2002. Please, no engine or drivetrain discussion.

Newbie here* Need to ask boost questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2003, 07:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie here* Need to ask boost questions

I dont know much about deisel motors. Im into the foreign turbo cars (plese dont flame me to hard

Im trying to help out a friend of mine with his turbo deisel ram

I think its the 98-00 version. He said it has 235hp

What is the stock boost on the stock turbo?
How much boost can you run on stock fuel system safely?
What kind of boost controllers do you use? MBC's, or EBC's?

He wants to get a little extra power out of his truck. His mods that i know of are stacks.

Thanks
Old 09-14-2003, 07:59 PM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Re:Newbie here* Need to ask boost questions

Stock boost will be about 19 psi.
The fuel system will handle varying injectors, but they don't relate directly to how much boost the fuell systel will handle. You have to worry about if the fuel pump can maintain fuel pressure at WOT with the injectors/box you have on the engine.
The boost will be determined by the injectors/box you have on the engine, and the wastegate mods you do.

What you have to worry about as far as boost goes is your head gasket. Stock head gaskets can take as much as 70 psi of boost, if you retorque the head bolts, and don't run high boost until the engine is at full operating temperature. Note: this number is not set in stone, but I have heard it is a pretty reliable number to go by.
Once you get over 70 psi you will need to O-ring the head.

The stock turbo is not good for more than about 35 PSI, but this number can be lower, depending on which stock turbo you have.

Chris
Old 09-14-2003, 08:14 PM

So for boost control do you just put different actuators on that have stiffer springs? Does anyone run just plain old manual boost controllers?