24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

What To Look For

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2009, 07:20 AM

Location: I live in Bernville Pa but where I want to live is Colorado
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
buying a 1998-5 help

Hello I'm new to this diesel stuff. I'm looking at a 1998.5 2500 diesel,with 240000 miles and automatic trans.4X4 I'm told the trans was rebuilt about 1 year ago. Can you guys help me out here an tell me what else to check out real good before I buy this truck, how do I check out this lift pump an the injector pump. Any and all info on what an how to check it out would be a great help. Thanks in advance Bob Anybody have any suggestions

Last edited by bowhunter57; 10-11-2009 at 11:04 PM. Reason: no response
Old 10-12-2009, 06:14 PM

I don't know how to take this on here. I would think at least someone would have something to say about what to look for when buying one of these trucks. I'M CONFUSED
Old 10-12-2009, 07:36 PM

if you want to check the lift pump i would put a fuel pressure gauge on and make sure it has no less then 3psi at wot.
Old 10-12-2009, 08:21 PM

Take it by a parts store and have the codes read with a reader.
Get it in the air with lift and inspect for worn components and leaks. Look at suspension also for looseness. Look for underbody rust.
Does it drive good? Does it ride rough (normal)? How many bruises on sheet metal and conditin of paint? Is interior clean and smoke free? (took me two days to get rid of smoke)
Old 10-12-2009, 10:46 PM