24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Stumped! Somebody help!

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2012, 01:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Stumped! Somebody help!

I'm new to the diesel world, I bought a 2002 3500 5.9L diesel dually from a buddy of mine and Ive been tinkering with it trying to fix it and I'm stumped. When the truck is in park or nuetral I can rev it for days with little/no throttle lag, but you don't hear the turbo until its almost redlined. If you put in any other gear (R, D, 2) you can't hit the gas hard, you had to slug it. My buddy put a new transmission in it before I bought it. I have the quadzilla chip that will show ECM voltage, but once I put it in a driving gear I lose the voltage. My engine coolant temp sensor goes all the way up, even when the key is just in the on position. I did the fourth gear hunt fix for the APPS thinkin that may help, and it did, for a short while, the fuel pump has been replaced with an aftermarket fuel pump that pumps out greater fuel pressure. I'm just lost in the sauce. Help please!
Old 07-29-2012, 03:00 PM

It seems like you might have some bad grounds that are causing in gages to peg. It you rev the engine with no load(in nuetral or park) it barely builds boost(normal). Check in drive gear.
Old 07-29-2012, 03:51 PM