24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Rear pinion seal R&R - difficult?

Old 05-23-2013, 12:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rear pinion seal R&R - difficult?

On my truck (see sig), my rear pinion seal on my D80 is leaking. Not terrible, but it's leaking. I have done some searches and it seems that getting alignment / measurements correct during re-install is of utmost importance and I've never done one before and am thinking I'm not qualified nor do I have the right tools.

Can anyone confirm the skill / specialized tools required for this job and how long it should take? I'm no ASE and only have done many brakes, u-joints, fuel pumps, electrical, alternators, and oil changes on various vehicles over the years.

Also, what should a ballpark cost be to have a shop do it?

Thanks!
Old 05-23-2013, 03:57 PM
Administrator

Received 171 Likes on 129 Posts
The only thing you really need special is an inch/Lb torque wrench.

I check the rotational torque before pulling the yoke ( obviously wheels off the ground ), buzz off the nut, pull the yoke, change the seal, reinstall and pull nut moderately tight, check rotational drag, and then adjust nut tightness till I get it close to where it was. Refill diff, and you are good to go.

I have seen ASE techs just use their impacts and never check rotational torque and have good luck also, but it always seemed Hillbilly to me.
Old 05-23-2013, 07:00 PM
Cummins Guru

Received 64 Likes on 44 Posts