24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Check Engine Light and Loss of Power

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2005, 08:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Check Engine Light and Loss of Power

Just purchased a 1998 24v this past week and having my first problem.
I had a sudden loss of power and the check engine light came on. It would idle only and not excelerate. I acts like limp mode. Then a few seconds later the normal power was back and I cou speed back up to speed. Then again I lost power and it would only idle. Parked it and came back an hour later to try and drive it back home and it did the same thing.
I am brand new to the sight so I am still searching for my answer. If anyone knows what it could be,or where I can find my answer.
Could it be a clogged fuel filter? but then if it was a clogged filter wouldnt it start to get sluggish and not just go to idle and stay at idle no matter what?
Thanks for any help
Old 03-07-2005, 08:37 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Sounds kinda like an APPS. Have you had the codes pulled yet?
Old 03-07-2005, 08:41 PM

What is APPS and I dont have the program for my lap top like I do for VWs "Vag-Com. How and where do I get the programs for the Dodge Diesel? Is there another way to get the fault code?
Old 03-07-2005, 08:49 PM
Banned

I had a '99 CDT that did the same exact thing. It was my fuel filter. It doesn't cost anything to check it and since you just bought the truck, change it. There is no telling how old it is. I got some vary nasty fuel out of a truck stop and my fuel filter was full of sludge. It looked like old transfer case oil! I'd try the easy things first. Next I'd check the fuel pressure from the transfer pump.
Old 03-07-2005, 09:25 PM
Banned

Start with the fuel filter as 4x4 suggested then if it persists get the codes following my suggestion.