1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

School the newb - Water in fuel light?

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2007, 12:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
School the newb - Water in fuel light?

Well I'm new to deisels and I'm trying to get into the habit of getting in and turning the key and waiting for the "wait to start" light to go out before I crank it over. But twice now I've jumped in and fired it up only to see the "water in fuel" light stay on. One time it was pouring down rain and I just let is idle for say 10 seconds and it went off. the other time I shut it down and drained the fuel filter.

BTW - I've got a fuel filter and its getting installed tonight.

So how bad is it on the motor to be running with this light on? will it damage something in seconds? minutes? etc...
Old 01-10-2007, 12:58 PM

!st , need to find out the why's , mine will lite after I pressure wash the eng. , then after a day or two , it drys out , lite does not come on .
When you go to change fuel filter , drain into a glass container , then let settle , so that you can look to see if there is more than just diesel in there , if looks good than just getting wet from rain .
If other stuff in the glass than need to clean tank out , and not get fuel where that came from , most will go out of there way to get fuel from truck stops , better % of getting a good tank of fuel from the truck stops .
If there was stuff in tank , run some diesel fuel injection cleaner through , also get from truck stop , stanadyne , howes meaner cleaner , power service , use these every tank full , unless the place your getting fuel from has them added already .
Old 01-10-2007, 01:34 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts