1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

HELP< Rookie needs info

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2007, 09:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question HELP< Rookie needs info

HELP!!!

My IP is leaking, and I think, failing internally (posted problems in another thread). I found a pump and injectors from a '90 non-IC to put in my truck ('93 IC'd). Will this work???

I've heard the injectors have a different size (9mm vs 7mm) is that where they plug into the head or the fuel lines themselves. If I can get the pump to injector lines, will it all work?? Can I use just the pump or am I wasting money??? If this pump won't work what years can I use??

I'm still learning the Cummins idiocrancies, I've had mine for about 6 years, put 74k miles on it with nothing more than a clutch, 2 trans rebuilds (1 full, 1 re-shim/tuneup), and a blown pinion gear, at least until now when the IP died. I need to get it back on the road, while I track down the guy who did the pump mod's originally.
Old 11-24-2007, 09:53 PM
Adminstrator-ess

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts
The injectors will not fit your head.

Swap pumps, that will work OK. The KSB works backwards, but that's no big deal. Just tie the KSB solenoid straight to the shutoff solenoid instead of running it through the temp switch in the manifold.
Old 11-24-2007, 10:19 PM

Cool on the pump, but you lost me on the KSB... That's the cold fuel enrichment, right? By tieing it to the shut off soleniod it will be powered all the time rather than waiting until the engine warms up??

I'm trying to learn as I go now...

My current pump was modded by the original Dr Performance, and my understanding is raised fuel pressure and mods to the injectors (direction and pattern). Will my injectors still work if the pump pressure isn't as high as my modded pump??
Old 11-25-2007, 08:28 AM