1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Gm 1 wire self regulating alternator on cummins?

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2005, 08:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gm 1 wire self regulating alternator on cummins?

Has anyone put a chevy self exciting self regulating 1 wire alt. on a cummins before.

i'm new to cummins, but far from new to jerry rigged auto mecahnics

was seeing if anyone has done this to any of ther dodges, i'm getting ready to TRY the conversion, just seeing if anyone has already has. I searched the forum, but have not come up with anyone doing that mod.

thanks, Justin
p.s simpler is better, 90 cummins non-I/C
Old 10-11-2005, 08:50 PM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Not too sure on the swap...someone will chime in though, I'm sure. I gotta ask, why the swap?

BTW---Welcome to DTR!! we need a few more cold air challenged trucks like mine (non i/c) floating around in here

greg
Old 10-11-2005, 08:55 PM

well my alt's fried, or volt reg fried.

surging on amps.

I like simple. Gm is simple.
I like cheap. Gm is cheap

jsut figure ger rid of a few less wires i have to worry bout corroding, and giving me probs.

yea first cummins myself, moved over from powerstroke.

thanks for the welcome, also the 3 spd autos have locking torque converters?
anyone have a wirign diagram for locking them up. i liek having downhill engine braking.
Old 10-11-2005, 09:17 PM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts