1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

AFC modification

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2008, 08:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
AFC modification

Hello Folks! This is my first attempt at including pics w/ info. so if its not correctly posted, bear w/ me. Hopefully ya'll will find this useful. And understandable!
This mod is a way to use the total fueling of having the AFC foot ground off and use an even deeper cut pin, but retain full afc control. We are going to be replacing the smaller pin that rides between the AFC cone and AFC lever. This pin is approx. 15/16" long. After grinding the foot you loose a good bit of control of the governor and "gain" low speed smoke/idle haze, along with a few more H.P. Which is what we're after. I have been looking for quite some time for the part needed (PIN) to make this possible. The reason for not being able to use any piece of round stock SS is, as many of you know, the hardness of the metal. I read in a thread in 1stgen.org. that a needle bearing could be used for this. I have looked and called everywhere around my area and can't find a distributor of bearing parts. So one day while kicking the idea around I thought of using the shank of a cobalt drill bit. It should be plenty hard and can be found in many sizes and lengths. I used a 5/32" drill bit w/ a shank length of 10 in. I used such a long drill bit cause it was readily available at work and allows for a few tries if the first attempt doesn't make par.
Here is a picture of the bit I used.

Because the pin rides inside of an O-ring we need to make sure that it is a nice polished surface. So to accomplish this I used a drill and some sand paper (320 grit) and a green scotch-brite pad. I wasn't sure how accurate the tolerance's would stay, but accross its length its within +/- .002"