12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

Truck jerking on acceleration/deceleration

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2011, 11:25 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Truck jerking on acceleration/deceleration

Howdy all,

I've done a few searches on this and I'm fairly sure its the u joints on my drive shaft, but I wanted to run it past you guys first...I'm still a bit of a newbie when it comes to problem solving.

From standstill, my truck will jerk twice when accelerating. Once at about 1000 RPM, second time at 1700 RPM. It will also jerk if I'm accelerating or cruising at about 50-60mph and I take my foot off the go pedal.

Could it be a stuck drum brake on accel. and injection pump on decel? or gear slop in the rear diff?

Thanks in advance!
Ian
Old 01-27-2011, 04:01 PM

Received 22 Likes on 21 Posts
U joints can do that, as can a center support bearing (if equipped with a 2 piece driveshaft) if they are bad. Best way to check is crawl under, grab the driveshaft and try to move it back and forth. If you have any play in any joint, replace it (spicer original replacements are the best IMO) and if you have a center support bearing, there should be a little play (movement rather) in the rubber isolator, no metal to metal sound should be heard. Even give the tranny a good shake, make sure no mounts are deteriorated, same goes with your leaf spring bushings.

Could also be shifting problems, assuming you have an auto, like starting out in 2nd gear then down shifting after take off. Does it do it all the time? If it does, try manually selecting 1 from start, then 2 when it would normally shift, then "D" with o/d off, then turn on O/D around 50 and see how it does. If that clears it up, tranny flush or at least fluid/filter change and band adjustment would be a start. Good luck.

PS other than the jerking, how's the new truck?
Old 01-27-2011, 05:41 PM

Hi gorms,