12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

Special tools for KDP and pump timing?

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2010, 01:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Special tools for KDP and pump timing?

I'm looking into getting the KDP and pump timing done at the same time, but not sure I want to pay someone to do it yet if the price difference is too much more than the special tools required to do it myself. So far I have a price of $485 to do just the KDP and $660 to do the KDP and pump timing.

I called TnT performance in Baton Rouge. They are the old Gerhardt's Performance. Gerhardt's has been around for a long time, starting in New Orleans and I know they know their way around diesels over there. I've used them before on pumps, injectors, etc. when I worked as a marine mech.

Problem is, when I asked the guy at TnT how they do the timing, with the timing pins or dial indicator on a DV, he didn't know. I told him I needed to know, because you can't set the timing to a degree you want with the pins only(I want 15*) if you want anything other than stock. He just replied that they would set it to wherever best performance is and I wouldn't get much performance from any timing. Not the answer I was looking for.

From memory, tools I need to do it all myself:

Barring tool-------$xxx
Dial indicaror------HAVE
Big Freakin puller--$xxx
DV socket--------$xxx

What else am I missing, anyone have links to prices and also does anyone know of places around Baton Rouge or New Orleans who is trustworthy?
Old 03-01-2010, 01:48 PM

send a pm to Tate, he is very knowledgeable on this subject
Old 03-01-2010, 02:55 PM