12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

Semi-basic 12v 5sp questions (RPMs, boost, EGTs, shifter, performance)

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2009, 11:27 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Semi-basic 12v 5sp questions (RPMs, boost, EGTs, shifter, performance)

I'm new to the Cummins world, and to fully mechanical diesels. I just traded my '02 Jetta TDI 5sp for a '97 3500 DRW 4x4 CC LB 5sp.

The truck has just under 242,000 on it and as of Sunday has a brand new head on it. About 2 weeks ago severe oil contamination was found in the coolant, the head was pulled, cracks (4) were found in valve seats, and the head was replaced. Hone marks still visible on cylinder walls.

Along with the head it got upgraded exhaust springs, and a 4k GSK was also installed along with a bunch of fresh gaskets.

It supposedly has the pump "turned up a little bit" (from 2+ owners ago) and an upgraded clutch.

So far I've only driven the truck with about 9,000# on the hitch. This was through the mountains of PA on 147-180-15 to 86 and 390 in NY for those of you familiar with the area. Mostly interstate quality roads with 65mph limits and a decent number of grades in the 5% area. Nothing stupid steep since it tops out at all of 2600' but lots of up and down.

I've got a couple questions for those more familiar. I've seen these things discussed in a couple other threads and I'm sorry for the rehash but I haven't quite found what I'm looking for yet.

boost - cruising at 70, when it's at WOT climbing, the boost is very steady but not at a fixed number. Some hills it's at 24, some it's only at 21. It looks like a vacuum actuated waste gate so I'm confused why this would vary. It seems rock solid at whatever level it picks.