12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

How long do you let your truck warm up?

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2004, 05:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question How long do you let your truck warm up?

I'm new at having a diesel and hear all kinds of responses on how long you should let your diesel warm up when it is cold. I know we used to let our JD tractors warm up until the temp gauge started to move. It only gets down into the 20's at night usually , but can go down below zero. It got down to the low 20's a couple of nights ago, but I plugged it in just in case.

Any responses appreciated.

BobG
Old 11-30-2004, 05:53 PM

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
What kinda diesel do you have? My CTD won't warm up sitting at an idle. Yours won't either. They warm up only under load. Start it, hold it at 1000 rpm for one minute (in neutral if automatic), and then drive it. Take it easy until it warms up. It'll warm up faster, as you drive, and stay warm on downgrades, if you put some cardboard in front of your radiator.
Old 11-30-2004, 06:23 PM

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
I let mine warm up 15- 30 seconds, auto trans in N, then drive away.
Unless you increase the throttle to 1200 rpms it won't warm up and can cause damage.
Old 11-30-2004, 09:33 PM

I don't think any diesel will warm up sitting at idle...even all day! Lund makes plastic inserts that fit in the grill- alot better than cardboard! I've had my set (for my 97) since it was new. It was a good investment- and I guess it's time to put them back on the truck, burrrr!
Old 11-30-2004, 09:47 PM

I usually wait 30 sec after I get oil pressure then drive, keeping the rpm's under 1500 until the temp gets to 140 mark then run the speed limit
Old 11-30-2004, 10:17 PM
Banned

if you're plugged in, you're fine... start it up and go...