12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

Goerends or ATS

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2010, 02:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Goerends or ATS

Hey fellas i hav a 95 3/4 and i am looking at a trans rebuild. I have ben looking around at Goerends and ATS. How do they compare. Thanks
Old 04-13-2010, 03:31 PM

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Few people can compare, having not used both. Many have biases, largely unwarranted, based on hearsay. I am biased towards the ATS because they are nearby, they provided me with excellent service, and their product is bulletproof. Also, as I am an engineer, I recognize the ATS advantage of having a totally engineered package with components proven to work well together, and each unit bench tested.

Delete: Goerends seems to throw in parts depending on what you say you need, asssembly and testing is by the customer.

Last edited by Rare1; 04-14-2010 at 10:48 AM. Reason: I'm learning...
Old 04-13-2010, 04:19 PM
Administrator

Received 171 Likes on 129 Posts
I will agree with one thing, go with a reputable vendor close to you.

I am also a Mechanical Engineer, and having talked with Dave, fully understand he knows Transmissions like few ever will.

I don't appreciate being pigeonholed into a "Stage" or "Package"

Not to say one is better than another, just personal preference.

And Goerends certainly does test, build and install like the ones who advertise all over the place.

To the OP, you may well also want to investigate DTT, HTS, and I am sure there are a few more reputable builders out there.

The real key is proximity and reputation.
Old 04-13-2010, 07:10 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Use the search feature and see who has issues and those who do not.
Old 04-13-2010, 08:09 PM