Towing and Hauling / RV Discuss towing and hauling here. Share your tips and tricks. RV and camping discussion welcome.

Suggestions for removeable GN ball

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2002, 01:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Suggestions for removeable GN ball

Need to get a gooseneck ball put in my truck. Want one that is removeable so I still have a flat bed area. Looking at the B&W one, anyone with experience with this one. How hard is it to install, or would anyone suggest another brand. Don't want to have to drill any holes in frame. Thanks in advance
Old 10-12-2002, 02:01 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Re:Suggestions for removeable GN ball

I have no experience with the hitch that you mention but you can drill holes in the frame in the verticle surfaces. That is proper and legal and will not weaken the frame.
Old 10-13-2002, 07:29 AM
Administrator

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I had the "Hidden Hitch" installed in mine by Ashland Hitch here in Richmond. The ball will tilt over and go under the bed with one little wrench. It does require drilling the frame which is the strongest way to do it. All you have once the ball is hidden is the plate and the emergency tie downs showing which are at the same level and my bed mat anyway. Very professional install using grade eight bolts and they even painted the hitch parts to match the frame after installation. Hope this helps you out.
Old 10-13-2002, 04:14 PM

Thanks for the info, will look at the hidden hitch as well.
Old 10-13-2002, 06:31 PM

Has anyone used this one? I just ran across it:<br><br>una-goose
Old 10-13-2002, 08:35 PM