Towing and Hauling / RV Discuss towing and hauling here. Share your tips and tricks. RV and camping discussion welcome.

Rear Air Bags Or Weight Distribution Hitch?

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2005, 12:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rear Air Bags Or Weight Distribution Hitch?

I have a 22' travel trailer that I use quite often. I was wondering wich would be best for my application as far as leveling the truck and trailer. I hall a quad also in the back of my truck.
With this load I squat a little in the rear end. I have been told by many people to go with the adjustable air bags to level the ride and other people have told me to go with the weight distribution hitch. The truck with trailer drives very nice no sway or bouncing. I am fairly new to this rving thing so i need sugestions.
Thanks,
Tim Ryden
Old 04-15-2005, 03:22 PM

Both.

I've had the best success that way. Some would say overkill, but I've found it very useful. Allows for fine-tuning and control.
Old 04-15-2005, 03:27 PM

I tend to agree, Both. More flexibility.

Doug
Old 04-15-2005, 03:41 PM

So which would you go with first? air bags or weight distributin hitch.
Old 04-15-2005, 03:53 PM

Probably the hitch. Although others may have a different opinon.

Doug
Old 04-15-2005, 04:01 PM

Thanks doug,
Everyones opinion counts that what helps guys like me make a decision.
Thanks,
Tim
Old 04-15-2005, 07:26 PM
Banned

air bags do NOT DO THE WORK OF AN EQUALIZING HITCH. air bags keep the entire load, +or- a little bit on the rear axle.
Old 04-15-2005, 08:46 PM

As long as the truck is handling the load good with the exception of sagging in the rear, I would start with the air bags, air it up to level and go for a ride. That will tell you if you have to go any farther.
Old 04-15-2005, 10:34 PM

What brand of air bags are you guys using? Are they easy to install on the third generations with the box frame? How much were they and where did you get them from? Any help would be great......
Thanks,
Tim