Towing and Hauling / RV Discuss towing and hauling here. Share your tips and tricks. RV and camping discussion welcome.

Oversize Load going into Canada

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2007, 11:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Oversize Load going into Canada

I have a hauling business w/my Dodge and gooseneck trailer and a guy is asking me to move some over width and height pieces of pipe into Ontario from NY. Both 10 foot diameter and 12 foot diameter 30 foot long. I have no experience going into Canada for work with a commercial vehicle let alone being oversized. Is it more trouble then its worth trying to get an over dimensional trip permit and risk sitting at the border for hours?

Thanks
Old 10-29-2007, 12:42 PM

I think the process is pretty much similar to the US, you might want to call ahead and ask some questions - unless they think you are asking things in order to figure out how to get away with things, they should be pretty nice.

I would consider putting in the contract something where the customer pays a rate for each hour you are at the border, and pays for the overdimension permit. Explain that this is less expensive to him than you marking up your price more to compensate for variables you are uncertain of, and hence need to estimate high.
Old 10-29-2007, 12:50 PM

I have no idea really about this topic but did Google the topic to get the link to our Provincial Transportation Authority and also found the single trip permit application. Both links to follow and I hope this helps. I doubt you will have any problems at the border as if is Federal and won't really care about the roads it is the province that will hassle you about them. Good Luck.

http://www.mto.gov.on.ca/english/
http://www.mto.gov.on.ca/english/tru...oop_single.pdf
Old 10-29-2007, 03:35 PM

Post some pics when you get it all loaded up too !
Good luck.
Old 10-29-2007, 05:43 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post