Towing and Hauling / RV Discuss towing and hauling here. Share your tips and tricks. RV and camping discussion welcome.

5th Wheel Camper w/ shortbed

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2007, 02:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
5th Wheel Camper w/ shortbed

Will it be a problem or a pain to haul a 5th wheel camper w/ a shortbed? Thanks!
Old 11-05-2007, 03:00 PM

You just get a sliding hitch. I've got one on my shortbed and never use it. Turn wide. Saves the tires on the 5'er too.
Old 11-05-2007, 09:22 PM

I've been towing my 5th wheel with my shortbed for two years now. Suggest a sliding hitch too. Some 5th wheel trailers by design are more prone to contact the trucks cab than others. How wide is the trailer, is the trailer's front rounded or squared off, how far back is the front of the trailer from the kingpin, etc.. Many people claim that they never need to slide their trailer back. Personally I like the Pullrite superglide hitch. I never need to worry about IF I it will make it.
Old 11-05-2007, 09:42 PM

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
I pulled my 31' 5er for over 7 years with my '98 short bed and now nearly 1 1/2 years with my '06 short bed. I have a manual slider hitch and have used it perhaps 15 to 20 times total in all that time. You seldom really need it but when you do, it's worth any price. The automatic sliders are really nice but, to me at least, not worth the extra $.

Dan
Old 11-05-2007, 10:52 PM