Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

Setting up pinion

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2016, 06:01 AM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Setting up pinion

The rear pinion bearing my the Dana 70 in my truck went south and took the pinion with it (two teeth). I have seen videos on setting up the new gears and people seem to use a specially modified front bearing that is a slip fit, not a press fit, while they are getting the shims right for the pinion.
Am I going to have to buy two rear pinion bearings to modify one for setup purposes? It seems like the only way to get the press fit bearing off is to destroy it.

I am open to ideas as I have never done this before.

Thanks,
Chris
Old 02-03-2016, 08:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
In the auto shop days we had a few rear bearings that we made slip fit, Dana 70 was one.

We did run slip fit ones on the racer but it isn't the best idea.

I'd just bite the bullet and make a slip fit, do it right.

Sometimes you get lucky and the numbers on the new pinion match the old, then you should be able to do it once. I would not chance it today, as the gear sets are generally not as good as they were 40 years ago.
Old 02-04-2016, 12:09 AM
Cummins Guru

Received 64 Likes on 44 Posts