Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

new to the game, i need turbo help

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2007, 07:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
new to the game, i need turbo help

Hi guys, i'm a newbie and had a few questions. I have a 1999 2500 24V and my truck started doing some shuddering, and i was told that i probably have an injector problem. The guy referred me to DDP so i looked them up. I like the looks of the 150HP DDPs, so i called DDP in Monroe, WA, and they said that i need to upgrade my turbo if i'm going to use these injectors. Question is, there are so many turbos out there that i don't know which one to get! I have a built suncoast trans, 4" turbo back, an off-the-wall chip named "Speed Performance" (came with the truck), EGT and 0-60 boost guages. So the parts i know i want are the 150HP DDPs, the new Quadzilla Adrenaline, but i want a turbo on top of this to push me to 550+ HP. I've heard of the B-1 steroid turbos, sled puller 66, SPS66, and SPS62 turbos possibly pushing the combination to 550+HP, but i'm open to any ideas!
Old 12-11-2007, 07:39 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Many questions!!!
Shuddering is usually the converter clutch slipping.
So, describe this shuddering in more detail.
Next , what do you do mostly with the truck?
Tow, or run empty to play with others?
You will not find a single tubo that fills all these pictures.
If you tow, my advice will be to go with a twin tubo set-up.

Any bigger turbo will spool up slower, and a lot slower with a trailer.
If you sled pull, most area's will not let you in if you have twins.
Old 12-11-2007, 08:02 PM

First get a fuel pressure gauge and upgrade yer fuel system to handle the demands of the mods you intend unless ya wanna use a big of yer money for a new injection pump...
Old 12-11-2007, 08:03 PM