Off Road / 4x4 OffRoad discussion, along with 4x4 events and information.

BFG Mud Terrains

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2005, 01:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
BFG Mud Terrains

I've been running Kelly Safari MSR's for about 4 years, 2 sets on my 1500 and 1 set on my 2500. On my 2500 they have worn horribly. I've gotten around 20,000 miles on them and although they still have some tread left, it's not nearly what I expected so it looks like I'll be getting some new shoes for my truck.... 285/75/16 BFG Mud Terrains and I was curious if anyone has experience with the on-road manners of this tire?
Old 12-31-2005, 01:29 PM
P.J
Banned

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
They're soft. I had them on my old truck and they wore evenly but quickly too.

Any reason why you really need that agressive of a pattern?

Get some Michelins. 60,000 miles of use if rotated right. Just don't get into anything too deep.
Old 12-31-2005, 01:56 PM

I run the mud terrains on mine and I really like them. Good ride, quite and good traction.
Old 12-31-2005, 04:45 PM

I had mud terrains on one of my toyotas, they were great off road but made alot of noise on road. I sold them and got a set of all terrains, they were a much better tire for someone that isn't off road much.

Coop
Old 12-31-2005, 09:00 PM

Originally Posted by P.J
Any reason why you really need that agressive of a pattern?
because I can...

it's more for outward appearance than any functional reason and I'm getting a sweet deal on price for 33's....
Old 01-02-2006, 12:01 PM

I've had a set of 35in BFG m/t's on my jeep that have been on there for about 40K miles, They will probly make it to 50K before I decided that they are too bald for my liking. The one thing that I didn't like about the M/T was that they suck on wet roads (then again so do all mud terrains). As for noise, I can't hear anything in my jeep, so who cares how loud they are.