Introductions / New People If you're new to the site, feel free to introduce yourself here. Welcome!

New to the site

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2013, 06:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to the site

Hello, Brian here, just bought my first dodge. 2003 ram 2500 4x4 5.9ho quad cab long bed. It is all stock except some one just straight piped the exhaust. It has 354,000 miles and it has always run royal purple products in everything. By the way it is a 6 spd. Just curious about what should I do with such high mileage, I have read that they are good for about 350,000 I work on cars for a living.
I just replaced all a/c heat doors from heater treater and replaced the broken dash.
Any advice on this truck would be greatly welcomed.

Thanks to all
Old 02-06-2013, 07:54 PM

Welcome, Standby as I'm sure someone with knowledge of your rig will chime in soon. Great people here. BTW a business that delivers to us has a 24 valve 2WD with 679,000? on the odo last time I looked. Not sure your milage is that big a deal if it's been takin care of.
Old 02-06-2013, 08:11 PM
Administrator/Jarhead

Received 19 Likes on 19 Posts
Man, you got a great truck. The 03's and early 04's were awesome for mileage and longevity.

Make sure your valves have been adjusted, get an oil analysis, and make sure your fluids are good. Other than that, you are good to go if you're not having any problems.

Common problems on the early 3rd gens are ball joints (4x4), blend/recirc doors (already addressed) water pumps (that's iffy)... maybe a radio going out or some trim issues.

I've worked on these trucks a lot, if you have any questions, hit me up.

Welcome to the DTR!
Old 02-07-2013, 06:23 AM

oil analysis

What does the oil analysis tell you, and how hard is it to adjust the valves. I just did new radiator, thermostat, tensioner pulley belt and water pump.
I need to know about the antifreze, i used the orange at a 50/50 ratio. What is HOAT?