HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

rotor and stud damage

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2006, 05:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
rotor and stud damage

lugs became loose damaged rotor broke four studs and damged other four studs. I do have two individuals who have worked extensively on other brand autos, but not on dodge. One changed a diesel engine for me some time ago, the other did extensive work on my ford diesel. Reading the rotor posts changing a rotor is not a simple task. Taking it to the shop would cost $440 to change one rotor and $1080 for both. They say when you change one both should be changed. (???) As my name implies I am a novice. (I do know the difference between and engine and a rotor.) My friends are experienced on other vehicles.

Should both rotors be replaced?

I have a 02, Diesel, quad cab 2500
What size is the axel nut on these vehicles? Is a socket wrench required, or can a lug wrench be used? (I read somplace where a socket wrench must be used)
What else besides the axel nut has to be removed (brake has already been removed)?
Is a press necessary to secure studs in rotor, or will a hammer do.?

Anyone know anyplace I can purchase studs (front driver side) for less than $11.95. They only have five of these in the whole city of Fairbanks.

and finally I am of the thought that someone messed with my vehicle. That tire was changed almost a year ago, and not touched since that time, anyone ever have problems with lugs coming loose after such a long period of time, or is somthing wrong with the system? I am told that loose lugs generally cause problems very quickly. Rim is also shot.

Any help would be appreciated before I shoot the works and send to the shop instead.
Old 05-30-2006, 06:08 PM