General Diesel Discussion Talk about general diesel engines (theory, etc.) If it's about diesel, and it doesn't fit anywhere else, then put it right in here.

Stacks Legal in Calif?

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2006, 11:34 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Stacks Legal in Calif?

I am being transfered to Calif and need to know if stacks are legal there before I do the mod.
Thanks
Old 04-03-2006, 11:58 AM

Welcome to the DTR! Where are you being transfered too?

I've been running them for about 2 months now with no problems. There are some other guys in the area running them. I've put down some smoke in front of some cops and haven't had any issues.

Tye
Old 04-03-2006, 12:27 PM

I have had mine on for 2-3 weeks,driven next to police and been seen by CHP but so far nothing has been said. But they may not know what they are seeing because mine are black...They may not realize that they are stacks. What I do when I am around them...I keep my foot out of it so that it dont smoke.
Check my gallery and you will see what I mean. I have had people not even notice that I have stacks..

Rick
Old 04-03-2006, 12:35 PM

It's not technically legal in Ca. but I think that it depends on where you are going. Most cops don't care and they have better things to do. But theres always the possibility that you will run into a Barney Fife cop that drops his donut in his coffee when you blast by..... if he's got nothing better to do he'll nail you. Especially if his wife ran off with a trucker.
Old 04-03-2006, 12:51 PM

you will most likely get more complaints from the base cops than the local cops . but will be fine as long as you dont smoke them out when rolling threw the gate i know alot of guys with stacks out here in cali and few that have had anything said to them . the one that i can remember that had any thing said to him was cause when he came threw the gate he forgot to turn down his comp . it was still on 5x5 and he smoked out the gaurd at the gate .
Old 04-03-2006, 01:53 PM